In memory of Robin Williams (voices in your head)


voices in my headFor many people, the negative rant you hear in your head actually goes audible. And science can’t adequately explain it, so they pretty much dismiss it. It’s wonderfully consoling to know that you are not going crazy. Those voice are actually real. Robin Williams confessed to hearing voices in an under-reported interview: “You have an idea there’s a dark force when you’re in that space, and it’s totally the opposite of doing the right thing… You’re standing at a precipice and you look down, there’s a voice and it’s a little quiet voice that goes, ‘Jump!’” Unfortunately, he ultimately listened to those voices and hung himself.

Those voices are demons. They hate all humans. They come to us because of sin. They literally want to take you and me to Hell. In the name of Jesus, you can rebuke them, and they have to flee. Read the Bible. Confess your sins to God. Get some mature Christian to help you with prayer. Begin to director your life more and more towards God and away from sin.

My mom was a counselor in the Sylmar juvenile hall facility in the L.A. area, at the time, the largest in the nation. Kids would come to her to share the frightening secret: they were hearing voices. Frequently, those voices were telling them to kill, either another person or themselves. Guards and psychologists had told these kids they were crazy. My mom no. She prayed for them. They got free from the voices. They had opened themselves to hear those voices from their gang activities (violence, drugs, murder, other things).

As we saw from Robin Williams, you don’t have to be a gang-banger to wrangle with demons. The further you stray from God’s plan, the greater the danger you can actually to start to hear these mean voices.

I feel for the girl who’s cutting, the guy who’s taking anti-depressants, the alcoholic who’s gone over the edge. You can be a supposed mirth-filled person (like Williams) and be struggling privately with deep melancholy. Whatever the case, Jesus IS the answer. Doping people up doesn’t help. Counseling can help. But the real solution is God.

21 responses to “In memory of Robin Williams (voices in your head)

  1. This is very true and very important. I visit patients in a mental hospital every week and have had some real successes in helping them, but the hospital still gets upset with me for saying they (the medical professionals) don’t have the real answer. Jesus Christ is the answer!

  2. You know I love your blog and I would never go to someone’s blog and be negative and I usually keep my opinions to myself anyway… I hope you do not think I am being negative but I have to say something to this post. I have suffered with depression myself there have been times in my life I have been so far down in the pit that I felt like Gods voice was drowned out by the roar of my illness or the voices as you call them here. During those times I also had a really hard time understanding why when I read my Bible every day and stayed in close communication with him I have still have had feelings of depression and despair. I know people who have tried to commit suicide who were very close with God. I worry that your post may make some feel as if they are not loved by God or he has forgotten them or that they are suffering because they are sinning. Someone may be seeking God with all their hearts and still feel stuck in the pit of despair. You are right that the real solution is God but I just don’t feel as if all depression is because of sin.

    • Thanks again T for showing possible misunderstandings. No, it’s not taken as a negative criticism. Maybe I can post something that will help encourage the group you mention. I guess the reason I’m drawn to try to help this group is because I have known depression, as a Christian. Maybe I can relate. But yes, this post was directed at the sinner, at the guy who doesn’t believe in God. A different post could help the Christian, maybe? Thanks for such encouraging words.

      • oops … I misunderstood that it was for the guy who doesn’t believe in God, sorry about that 🙂 You are very kind. If you do write another post I look forward to reading it.

  3. I had never heard of that interview but if he heard that demon’s voice telling him to do it then that really is a shame that he listened. 😦 I knew he battled with depression though and when I found out about his suicide last Monday my heart ached. Thanks for posting this. You ought to have this properly published so we can educate people who dismiss depression and other stuff like voices in our head that ARE real as you said. That is, if you haven’t already done so. I think maybe if enough of us who do know how real depression and voices in our head are band together or even work individually, to educate others in a way that will force them to take their head out of the sand and admit these are real problems, that maybe at least some people may change the way they treat others? And I believe if we ALL showed love and compassion to everybody no matter what we are going through and no matter how the person treats us, then problems like this would be cured because love conquers a lot of things and God’s kind of love conquers all. I firmly believe that. Thanks for stopping by my page and also sorry for the novel (long comment) here.

  4. Wow! Thankyou for these fantastic points to think about

  5. I am very sorry– I generally love your blog but I have something to say here if I understand you correctly. When you say “doping people up” do you mean giving them psychiatric medications? Because I am Bipolar and Asperger’s and have OCD and Generalized Anxiety Disorder and I can tell that therapy alone and prayer alone would not have helped me. I was very close to God in my psychotic days but medication, in certain cases, is a necessity. And the proper medication might save someone who is tempted to commit suicide like RW did. Chemistry of the brain is a very powerful thing. And in order to hear the voices of reality sometimes, many times, that chemistry has to be corrected. I am sorry to disagree with you but I have to say this. And I am married to a psychiatric social worker who works with the poorest of the mentally ill in the south Bronx in New York City and, no, he cannot give medication but he works with a team of psychiatrists who can and must so he can help them. A brain has to be able to process information and handle emotion before therapy can work.

    • These are all very good and important points, and you are absolutely right. I think I was thinking of my friend who suffered from depression and was prescribed anti-depressant. They worked. But they also can be addictive. In the end, he opted to stop taking them and has largely overcome the depression by many means (therapy included). I have read about how hard it can be for some patients to get off anti-depressants. Of course, all these nuances didn’t get explained in my comment. by no means did I intend to rule out medication in all cases. So I have to thank you for sharing that here. Would you mind if I reprint your comments as a regular post? I agree with you that there is a danger to misunderstand, and you can bring some needed balance.

      • First, let me say thank you to you for understanding and accepting my comment. I was scolding myself because I could have just disagreed in silence. But too many times it is seen as a weakness to take psychiatric medications, as if we who are mentally ill could will the disease away. Yes, it is very hard to get off the medications. The body does get physically and psychologically addicted. Yes. But diabetics have to have their insulin. Think of medications as a chemical shield that protects the loss of defenses in a mentally ill person. A shield that corrects an imbalance. He is weak because he has no walls and feels bad and is non- functional, not because he has to take something to feel good. It is a very dangerous thing to get people to stop their meds. Yes, please feel free to use this for a post. Many are overmedicated it is true. I was given a choice: medication or the mental hospital. I took the one least disruptive for me and for my family. And I will most likely be chemically corrected for the rest of my life. I would it were not so because it is a trade-off but it keeps me functioning and able to care for others and give love.

    • I have a brother-in-law who needs to take medicine, but because he suffers from paranoia, he refuses to take them thinking people are trying to poison. He leads a very sad and unproductive life. How did get in this state? It doesn’t look like genetics were the factor, although many times genetics are a factor. He started playing Dungeons and Dragons and experimented with out-of-body experiences. I don’t know if that was the cause, but I regret his condition. In his case, medication doesn’t help because he doesn’t take the medication. I’m not trying to make a blanket statement here. I am just trying to suggest some additional ideas to the discussion. In regards to your case, I praise God for the science to help you, just as I take medicine to help myself with a sickness. In any case, I am grieved if you are offended. Please forgive me. And thank you for speaking up.

      • Not sure who the above was directed to. If it was to me, no apologies necessary. I felt I should apologize but I had to say something. I will grant you that medications are over prescribed but that is another point. My husband has a mental illness and takes a low dose of tranquilizers that enable him to administer to the forgotten poor mentally ill. So forgive me going on and on about this.

  6. I believe our first line of defense against any illness is prayer. However, medication may be necessary for serious mental illness on a temporarily basis and possibly as an ongoing therapeutic aid.

    God uses Pastors to give spiritual help and doctors for physical help. Miracles of healing happen, but they are not normative and that’s why they are called miracles.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    • Yes, very good. Thanks for adding to the discussion. I didn’t mean to say medication was bad. I was trying to let people know that the voices are real. In some cases, prayer can get rid of them.

      • I’m so glad to hear that. Yes, demons are real. And you are right to remind us that prayer is powerful, since He who is in us is stronger than he who is in the world.

        I guess the bottom line is to commit each situation to God for discernment in how to proceed. Thank you for replying back. Blessings on your weekend.

  7. I appreciate this post and think it was very special that you encourage people to overcome their voices in their heads and other mental illnesses. God is an important part of healing. I agree with this. Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

