Being liked


being likedCall me insecure, but I’m the type who wants to be liked by everybody. The reality is: not everybody is going to like me.

In fact, sometimes lots of people are disgusted with me. After all, I’m just a human being.

Jesus asks us to love those who hate us. Sometimes the people who are supposed to love us, pour rejection out. This is hard to handle. It requires maturity — more than I have. But it’s something I can shoot for. Christianity is not about being perfect but aiming for improvement.

20 responses to “Being liked

  1. I wish this was easier to do – it is definitely something to strive for!

  2. Amen and Amen! We are all under construction and not yet done> He who began a good work in us WILL be faithful to complete it!! Be blessed, AL

  3. So true and the only acceptance I need is His!!!!

  4. The fear of being disliked has kept many people – including me – from doing the right thing at times. We’ve got to remember that Jesus said we would be hated for His name’s sake.

  5. What? You struggle with that too? Oh good. I was worried I was the only one.

  6. Like the Apostle Paul stated in Philippians 3:13-14, “Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”
    I’ve been in ministry for 40+ years and I’m still running, still keeping my eye on that prize. I of the belief that “you CAN teach old dogs new tricks,” so I am constantly trusting in the Holy Spirit to learn more so that Christ might be Glorified and Magnified all the more!
    By, the way, thanks for stopping by my blog and God bless you abundantly and richly as you continue to minister (serve) to all of us who come through your blog and to our Lord and Redeemer, Christ Jesus!

    • Praise the LORD! Pray for me because I’m in limbo, between churches, and I even wonder if I’ll ever pastor again.

      • Pastor, you have to remember that you are a pastor because the Holy Spirit called you to pastor. Remember the teaching of Paul concerning your calling and gifts:
        Romans 11:29, For the gifts and the calling of God are irrevocable.
        Romans 12:6, Having then gifts differing according to the grace that is given to us, let us use them:……
        Have you not thought that just maybe, the Lord is allowing you to touch others across the globe? So you may not be teaching face to face right now, but you ARE teaching and your exhortations are right on the mark.
        What IS a Pastor? Isn’t he a shepherd that leads the sheep (no number ever specified) to the refreshing life-giving water, to the green pastures of resting without burden in Christ Jesus and to the pastures of nourishment in the Word that IS the bread of Life? Doesn’t a shepherd lead by example, not just teaching others how to ACT in faith and love but by going ahead and being at the front line so to speak in front of the sheep? A true shepherd doesn’t herd the sheep like a rancher does cattle, he leads by going on the path ahead of the sheep, by talking to the sheep, the sheep know the voice of their shepherd just as Jesus stated to His disciples.
        In the 40+ years I have Pastored the Lord has revealed to me and equipped me to shepherd congregations, single families and even one on one discipleship.
        You do what God in His grace and mercy has called you to do, and He by His Spirit will lead those to you that He desires you to teach. Your teaching is gifted by the Holy Spirit to teach those that can relate to you. My teaching is gifted by the Holy Spirit to teach those that can relate to me. Who comes our way is totally in our Lord’s hand and direction.
        Before I forget, read this post I made as one of the first of this blog: http://wp.me/p4HKQd-1u
        I really believe it will encourage you. As to whether you Pastor a congregation, a home group or whatever, remember our Lord Christ Jesus started out by calling only 12 people to Him. He is ALWAYS our example for living and especially when we have questions concerning our ministry and how to walk.
        Anyway, I want to encourage you not to lose faith in your calling or in your gifts. The Lord does not repent of giving them to you, so don’t sell His workings through you as a vessel short. Remember, in Christ there is no quantity, there is no male or female, Jew or Gentile, there is only His creation, His children and even just one of them that we can reach is worth more than anything this world has to compare!
        I’ll be praying for you, continue to meditate on His Word. This could be a time of reflection, the Lord does bring that into our lives from time to time. Have faith, for without you CANNOT please our Lord and TRUST Him to lead you when it’s the right time and too the right place! God bless you Pastor. You are a pastor and will always be one until our Lord comes back for all of us! Again, God bless!!

  7. Another great post! I don’t struggle so much with people hating me as I do with criticism. I need to know who I am in His eyes.

  8. I would say that Christianity is the journey of being concern about yourself, to caring less about yourself, to not even realizing you have a self. You don’t seek to be liked anymore than you seek to be hated…you just seek to show Christ.

Leave a Reply

