He denied God because of lack of evidence. Then he came across evidence.


atheist turns to ChristAs he left behind childhood Vacation Bible School and studied for a degree in electrical engineering, Clay Lein lost his faith in God.

“I had a very rational mind. It had to be logical. I needed proof. There had to be evidence. And if there wasn’t proof then it was just something people made up,” Lein told KHOU Channel 11 News in Houston. “Part of the training for engineers is to be skeptical, to demand data, to want to see evidence.”

He married, got an MBA and launched a successful career at Intel. All his achievements and the world that surrounded him seemed very concrete and observable. There was no need to believe in something intangible that required you to suspend your scientific mind, he reasoned.

Why would I need God? I mean, if he even existed why would I have any need for him, he thought.

But his wife pleaded with him to attend church, and he acquiesced because he thought “church was a place nice people go.” All the while he tactfully but firmly let people know he was an atheist.

Then he volunteered at a youth camp and that’s when his skepticism got shattered. Read the rest of the article.

12 responses to “He denied God because of lack of evidence. Then he came across evidence.

  1. That’s a great testimony! Thanks for sharing it. 😉

  2. ” Because they have seen, they believe. Blessed are those, that have not seen, yet believed”.

  3. I commented on the article itself. Thanks for making it available.

  4. This post brought tears to my eyes. I remember bursting into tears at church camp upon watching a skit about Jesus, and I could not control it. My young friends huddled around me and hugged me. My family never went to church, but my best friend did, and it was her family that brought me there.

    I know now that having a sense of God isn’t explainable. It just surges up. It’s something we feel.

    Thank you for this beautiful story.

  5. This is really cool. God moves in spite of us. 🙂

  6. Praise God for this testimony

Leave a Reply

