Because you can


helping others

This man was caught in a photography giving away his sandals. Why did he do it? Because he could. He saw the need. Pic from Random Acts of Kindness on Pinterest.

Why say no?

We have too much rugged individualism in America, too much self-made man myth. When we see someone in need, we divert our eyes. We pretend to talk on the cell phone. We don’t have the time.

I always try to help whoever I find in need. Because people are more important than money. Because people are supreme. Because serving people is serving God. Because love is worth more. Because reciprocity and karma are real.

A former student asked me to help her learn to drive. An elderly Japanese lady, whom I never knew, asked for a ride. I know some people that groceries come in handy for. A friend is on hard times and needs a couch to crash on while she gets back on her feet.

Yes, yes, yes, yes. I can. I have the time. It’s more important than what I’m doing or what I’m trying to achieve.

Many times, the reasons we say “no” when someone asks for help are unjustifiable. It’s just not a part of our culture to help.

from VeryBestQuotes.com

from VeryBestQuotes.com

A big irony for my life came when I went to Guatemala. When my car stalled, and I needed a push to get it started, guys pulled over and jumped out of their car to sweat for me. They never knew me. They didn’t have to know me. They just saw a guy in need, and they could. So they did.

The irony is: Supposedly I went to TEACH the Guatemalans about Christ. But I discovered that I went to LEARN about Christ too.

You know what would happen is you simply helped out your fellow human? No, it wouldn’t drive you into poverty. And maybe you could stand to lose a bit of your “precious time.”

13 responses to “Because you can

  1. mrsmariposa2014

    Beautiful display of giving as He commanded.

  2. Ouch! I tend to be jealous of “my time.” As a pastor it’s important that I maintain healthy balance, but I’ve got to let Jesus set my priorities.

  3. I think we always learn by teaching others or giving. We learn about ourselves more than we think.

  4. Planting Potatoes

    amen – good word! When God blesses others through me – I am the one that is blessed the most – most people think of blessing others in terms of food, shelter, and money – but as you’ve shown, it can be many other things too!

  5. So important to help those in need. When I give I to someone I always receive more.

  6. Totally agree: There’s no better thing to spend my time and money on than on people. Just think how nice life would be for all of us if we weren’t so competitive as a culture, if we weren’t so stinkingly and ruggedly individual.

  7. One piece of photograph can remind human loftiness. Splendid.

Leave a Reply

