Bible knowledge is overrated


Christian love

Though I have … understand all mysteries and all knowledge … and have not love, I am nothing. — 1 Cor 13:2.

I went to seminary. It was mostly very useful. I learned how to solve the majority of the “problem texts.” I learned to how to contextualize. I learned Greek and Hebrew. All important stuff to “rightly divide the word” for preaching and applying.

But the gold standard for Christian leadership is not Bible mastery. It is love. Paul says, “Knowledge puffs up.” In other words, you can sin with pride over your superior knowledge. But the daily grind of living the Christian life consists mostly in exhibiting love.

A lot of Bible knowledge doesn’t help when it come to “loving your enemies.” In fact, loving and forgiving difficult people is one of the toughest challenges for Christians. I may be good a parsing, but I have much to learn at loving.

14 responses to “Bible knowledge is overrated

  1. Don’t we all? It would seem the easiest thing in the world to do, but to love is one of the most difficult emotions to share, especially with our enemies.

  2. This is so true!!!!! Amen!!!!

  3. MSB, read this and agreed mostly – how pretentious is that! And then stumbled on your last sentence: ” … but I have much to learn at loving.”

    Because I have learned that I too often “name myself” with my labels. And each label needs a standard, a knowledge of meeting that standard, a counting of success and failure (and so becomes a grind).
    “Christian living” is a label – “Christian Leadership” another (I think I mean the label of “Christian” as we so often define it). And I see so much “grind” – which is really sad.
    My experience? Love isn’t a label. Loving doesn’t “count”. And where there is no counting there is no burden. Love is light. Is never a grind. Love is unconditional. And always allows (if I do).
    And I have found that the more I try and learn loving … the less I am loving – the more labels I shed, the more room it leaves for loving.

  4. Well said! Based on what I’ve read in your posts, you have already learned and applied much about love.

  5. As Paul said, “Knowledge puffs up, but love builds up.” (1 Corinthians 8:1)

Leave a Reply

