For Christmas, I want your forgiveness


havisham estella

The altercation between Estella and her adopted mother.

The fact that I’m 48 doesn’t make me any smarter or wiser than my high school students. It makes me more experienced, particularly in the area of mistakes. I’ve committed more errors than these kids by simple abundance of years.

Of all my sins and guilt, the thing I regret the most are the sins (errors) I committed against my children. I offended my parents rather nonchalantly. I offended my brother and my spouse. But what hurts the most is the conscience of wrongs done against my kids.

GREAT EXPECTATIONS

GREAT EXPECTATIONS

Can my children forgive me?

Miss Havisham moans as she wanders aimlessly around her estate in Charles Dickens’ Great Expectations. She has lost her only love, the love of her adopted daughter, whom she sought to protect against jilting love by making her incapable of love. Call it karma, but the girl who cannot love turned the lack of love against her adopted mother.

So she moans. Her life is now meaningless. Can we forgive ourselves for the wrongs done against our children? Can they forgive us? The cycle of victim-victimizer can only be broken by forgiveness.

9 responses to “For Christmas, I want your forgiveness

  1. Forgiveness is from Jesus Christ!!

    Merry CHRISTmas to all my Brothers and Sisters in Christ Jesus-Yeshua!!

    Love ❤ Always and Shalom ( Peace ) Everyone!!

    Kristi

  2. Amen! Forgiveness is hard. Often kids go on to have kids of their own and realize that being a parent isn’t so easy either. I tell mine they should listen to me…I am an expert at fouling things up. 😉

  3. I read the book in college, but was so focused on Pip that I completely missed this sub-plot! Also, to be honest, I wasn’t even aware that there was a dramatic version of the book.

  4. Wow, you got my number. I like the name of Dobson’s book years ago: Parenting Isn’t for Cowards. Grace, grace, and to forgive myself.

  5. Angela M. Hawkins

    Praise Jesus for His gift of forgiveness and grace to offer forgiveness. It’s a beautiful reflection of the Father’s heart towards us. Sin hurts deeply, but if we had no need to forgive or be forgiven, we would miss that reflection altogether. He gives us joy in the journey in spite of our selves.

  6. I think we all need forgiveness. Sometimes our hurting someone is unintentional and other times it is something we do out of lashing out in anger. I don’t see you as someone who would have made too many mean actions or unkind words. I know I have been missing your posts. I will need to go through sometime soon and really take the time to read. Hope you have a blessed Christmas and season. I have been saying this simple thought: “Follow the Star. . .” *

Leave a Reply

