I’ve cut down on sarcasm


sarcasm“Sarcasm” comes from “sarx” in the Greek, which means flesh. It is cutting someone up.

It’s telling someone he’s stupid and you’re superior, more intelligent. You resort to sarcasm to show how obvious something is (but wasn’t to the first person who made the statement or asked the question — hence he’s dumb.) It is a humiliation.

Of course, sarcasm has plenty of attractiveness. It makes people laugh. It makes you look witty. People like to hang out with winners. You’re the winner if you use it quickest and cuttingest. It’s a pride thing.

I’ve cut down on sarcasm because I’ve been cut up by sarcasm. I’ve decided that I don’t need it to attract friends. I’ve realized that true friends are what I want, and they won’t be coming around for my barbs and witticisms. They’ll love me if I love them. The only love the sarcasm knows is self-love.

Don’t place a halo on my head yet. Sarcasm comes out more frequently than I’d like to admit. I’m not totally sincere and humble. I’ve still got my flesh.

Sarcasm is delusional. You begin to believe you are superior to others just because of quick tongue.

9 responses to “I’ve cut down on sarcasm

  1. Ha! Amen to this post. I suffer from the same problem. The thing is sarcasm is not only a weapon, it is heavily tainted with cynicism, and cynicism is a lack of faith. Not only do we start to feel superior to others, but that dark and skeptical worldview starts to become our own view of the world around us.

  2. I think sarcasm is a defense mechanism to look smart. Yeah, I am also sarcastic. I am trying to lessen it. Thank you for this encouragement. đŸ™‚

  3. Great post! I use to be sarcastic until I realized how much sarcasm hurts. I believe too, the more we spend time with God the more we understand his great love for us and the need to be sarcastic is filled with the full measure of Him!

  4. Terrific insight here. I pray God’s wisdom and strength for you.

  5. Ouch. God has been speaking to me about this. Thanks for posting.

  6. well! I believe in the post… and I think sarcasm is a vital part of our life..!

Leave a Reply

