I don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions


resolutions

They only last three weeks. Then the gym empties out, the fridge fills up, and the checking account empties out. It’s sad.

I believe in church service. At the end of each service, we have the chance to go forward to the altar and “repent.” For the unchurched, that means, we make resolutions. No, were not a bunch of hypocrites. We’re just human. And humans need to constantly redirect their paths for the good.

We receive exhortation to forgive, to avoid pratfalls, to put our family first, to not waste our money, etc. I go to church at least three times a week. I make resolutions to be a better man at least three times a week.

This actually helps me to be a better human being. The constant forming of resolutions works better than the once-a-year grandiose life-changers, at least in my opinion.

Have you ever succeeded at at New Year’s resolution? Maybe I’m wrong. Share in the comments your experience.

7 responses to “I don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions

  1. Amen Brother in Christ Jesus!! We all need to TRUST in the LORD JESUS CHRIST!!

    Happy Shabbat Shalom ( Peaceful Sabbath ) Everyone!! Happy 2016 New Year Everyone!!

    Love ❤ Always and Shalom,

    Kristi

  2. I make them but I always fall short. The whole thing reminds me of good works and the road to Hell being paved with good intentions.

  3. Resolutions do not work because they rely on the flesh and the human will. The only way I have experienced real change is killing my flesh, crying out to God and relying on him and not myself. Even then, I get regular course corrections from the Holy Spirit. It works better with my full surrender than striving and performing. I am God dependent!

  4. Couldn’t agree more. No New Year resolutions for me, when the mercies of God are new every morning. My daily resolution is Micah 6:8.

Leave a Reply

