I killed myself at the gym today, so…


killing yourself at the gym…I wasn’t surprised when the homicide detectives showed up at my door later.

Ok, this picture is not me. I’m more of a (bad) punster than a muscle man. Actually, I’m the pencil-necked kind of guy with spindly arms and legs.

But I enjoy going to the gym. I have lofty, unattainable goals. In the striving, at least I’m staying healthy. And a healthy body is will be useful for the Lord’s service longer than a sick or frail one. I like the gym almost as much as the church; both are focused on goodness, healthiness and improvement.

11 responses to “I killed myself at the gym today, so…

  1. Exactly! “I like the gym almost as much as the church; both are focused on goodness, healthiness and improvement.” I had to copy and paste this as a reply…because I can’t come up with better words than you used! As always, brilliant! (I run to stay fit – like a turtle running through peanut butter!)

  2. Bodily exercise profits, but it profits little; in comparison to holy, spiritual exercise. Exercise your joy, praying together with the Holy Spirit, faith, hope, confidence and trust in Jesus, patience for one another, love for one another, forgiveness for one another and for yourself, etc. These spiritual exercises we must do weekly, if not daily; but they must dominate our physical exercise. I believe Jesus has approved of this. Love you all in Jesus!

  3. I gave up on the gym because their hours don’t agree with mine, and because of the assorted overhead involved. I do, however, walk 5K, at 6kph, 2~3 times a week, as schedule and weather allow, camera in hand. Stops to take pictures of ducks, herons, etc. on my course provide the interruptions that are said to make for greater benefit overall.

  4. I couldn’t agree more. Keep it up sir and juice up too.. Trevo.life/dawogbemila cheers!

  5. Nice – Kudos for being a great steward of your body! & Thanks for the meds (humor)!

Leave a Reply

