Simple faith


IMG_9717

My son and I pose with the pastor and his wife.

When their daughter was admitted to med school, the got on their knees and thanks God. It was the fourth and final round of exams in Guatemala for the public university (affordable). They’ve had so many things work against them, and yet the plug on for Jesus and reach blessings.

I’m their pastor, but at times I learn from them. I yearn for a simple faith, uncluttered by the prosperity gospel, unmoored by cliques and church politics.

IMG_9856

Accepted to med school, she poses with her sister.

It is my experience that Christians in the Third World nations have a much more unadulterated faith simply because they don’t have hardly anything else. Their hope is placed on God alone because outside of God, they have virtually no hope. I have seen the poor praise God with sheer joy that makes you wonder how can they do that when they are suffering hunger and they have no future.

5 responses to “Simple faith

  1. “unadulterated faith”
    That’s making me think…
    Great story. Give thanks to God, agreed!

  2. This is so true. I’m ashamed of the lack of faith I see in the U.S. and the U.K. People think they got it themselves, can get it themselves, and don’t need God. Thanks. I’m sharing this.

Leave a Reply

