When I lose peace


IMG_9445I was in Guatemala. The call didn’t come through but the voice message did. They were discharging my dad from the skilled nursing facility because the insurance didn’t want to pay any more time there.

All I could do was worry. I couldn’t hardly sleep. When I finally did sleep, I was awakened a by a dramatic dream. A pastor friend of mine went to pray for my dad, and my dad got healed! I felt like it was a mild rebuke from God. I was letting worry, not faith, run my mind.

I’ve been back from Guatemala for almost a week now. And things are working out fine. Why did I lose the peace God promised? God will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is stayed on Him. — Isaiah 26:3.

If there is something that can be worried about, I do.

14 responses to “When I lose peace

  1. Thanks for the reminder. May God continue to bless you and others through your ministry.

  2. If there was one thing that Jesus came to do it was too save us; true he saves us from multiple things in this life and of course the most important of them is out eternal soul. However he did not come to condemn you for loving your father and being concerned. Yes it turned to worry but didn’t he relieve you oh that.

    You have a heart of fill out and a spirit of joy, ask blessings from our God.

  3. I’m glad things are working out fine for you and your dad. I understand how you feel because I’m a bit of a “worrier” too. I can hardly tell you something you don’t know already, since you’re a pastor, but I want to share with you something I learned from Psalms that helps me to stay at peace.

    Have you noticed that many times in Psalms we find David desperately crying out for help to God? But then, in the next verse he is remembering how powerful, merciful and gracious He is, and how many times He has helped him in the past. Next thing, he is encouraging himself to keep hoping, to keep trusting in God.

    This is what we are meant to do. Yes, crying out to God, but remembering God is in control and He is all-powerful and gracious. Remembering His past mercies and making a resolution to keep trusting in Him.

    When I am about to fret, I ask myself this question: if God has never failed me, why He would fail me now?

    God bless you.

  4. Hebrews 12:2 my friend, our thoughts and prayers are with you

  5. Thoughts and prayers friend

  6. The enemy comes for not but to kill, still and destroy, and he wants our peace which surpasses all human understanding, and our joy, and yes, God ” will” keep him in perfect peace who’s mind is stayed on Him. This is good news!!! I am thankful that our God is working it out, and I’m praying for you and your family. God Bless!!!

    …LOVE…GRACE…PEACE…

  7. So glad things are working out for you and your dad. God bless y’all.

  8. Sorry for the worry about your father. Hard to keep peace when anxious about loved ones. Hardest thing next to loss.

  9. When in moments as these I play “There Will Be A day” by Jeremy Camp

Leave a Reply

