I still believe


I still believe

In 37 years of being a Christian, I’ve seen lots of friends tap out. They go through disappoints, failures, humiliations, emotional abuse. Out there, there are ravenous wolves disguised as sheep. Jesus warned as much, but it’s still pretty hard to swallow  bitter pills.

I haven’t given up in part because of the alternatives. As Peter said, Lord, You have the words of eternal life. Where else can we go? Jesus had just shown a horror flick, and His popularity took a nose dive; He had just told people to eat His flesh and drink His blood. Grisly material. Not even the disciples understood, but the stuck with Him.

I read articles and opinion pieces galore about trends of people leaving the church. They are “spiritual but not religious.” That sounds nice, but Jesus left just one institution. The gates of Hell would not prevail against His church. He did warn that there would be corruption in it.

Hitting up against corruption doesn’t feel particularly good. Or getting hit by it. Whichever. How much can a normal person stand? There’s no trite answer. All I can say is, “I still believe.”

29 responses to “I still believe

  1. “How much can a normal person stand?”

    Well, I can make it about two minutes without air. That’s pretty much what trying to go with out God is like. If I so much as try to get out of bed without Him, it’s not going to end well. Seriously, I once broke my toe trying it. 🙂

    As to leaving the church, there’s another trend happening that’s kind of fascinating. While it has declined in some areas, the worldwide numbers suggest we are rapidly approaching a time when there will be more Christians on earth than there has been at any other time in history, in fact, there will be more Christians alive on earth all at once than the sum total of all Christians who have ever lived.

    • and the media ignores that trend… In Iran, with all the bad things going on, there is revival breaking out. In Africa, with all the killing is going on, revival is breaking out. And supposedly America is more and more secular, but we had 3 strong Christian candidates, and apparently Trump has some sort of Christian faith too. We are livin gin awesome times. Thanks for stopping by and adding a word of encouragement. I admire your intelligence, your liveliness, you courage to confront.

    • Good point, insanity. I was just listening to Voice of the Martyrs radio. There was a story about the dedication to Christ of Christians who are being brutally persecuted. The more the persecution, the more the Church grows. This is one of the reasons for the increase of the numbers of Christians. Great comment. Thanks.

  2. I stand with you. I still believe. Lord, where else could we go – You have the words of eternal life. Good post as always. God bless.

  3. We have to always be in prayer. Just like the word says, in 2 Chronicles 7:14.

  4. If you haven’t already, try the book “Already Gone” by Ken Ham. Great study on why people leave churches. In the meantime, China’s Christian population is exploding ! They even send missionaries to the USA!! https://jeffreyhking.wordpress.com/2014/05/01/china-more-christian-than-usa/

    I’m a factory rep, and I do understand what you’re saying about corruption. I see it almost daily. It’s SOP for a number of companies. All I can do is shrug my shoulders, do my best, and leave the rest to God. See “Not My Circus, Not My Monkeys” – https://jeffreyhking.wordpress.com/2016/02/02/not-my-circus-not-my-monkeys/

  5. Fibromyalgia, and Chronic Fatigue have taken a toll, debt, a lot of stuff, but nothing takes away my faith in the man above, nothing.

  6. I also stand with you. Despite what I hear how the Bible is being placed in bad “light,” I know the truth because I seek the Spirit of the Lord for guidance and understanding. This is what we must do in these last and evil days. I would also like to point out the fact that there are those who want to remove the epistles of the Apostle Paul because these “individuals” say they are not inspired. A definite attack on the Bible as we know it!

  7. I love the story about a young preacher named Billy Graham, when he was wrestling with some difficulties in the Bible. He drew the line and told God that he was going to believe Him no matter what. I’m glad He gave us no Plan B.

  8. If you tell a truth to someone and he doesn’t believe it, his disbelief doesn’t change the truth.

    People today who have decided the church is irrelevant? Their lack of faith doesn’t change the truth. The church is still the Bride of Christ. Truth. It is still God’s plan for this age. Truth. Believe it, change it, ignore it–it is still truth.

  9. There is nothing else for me to put my trust in and I don’t just pray I rely on prayer! I have not attended a church in about 10 years but I educate my mind in Gods word daily! Thank you for making a faith statement! 🙏🏽

  10. Oh yes, “how much can a normal person stand?” That instantly brought to mind the verse that calls us, as Christians, a peculiar people. So, we are different. Normal in one sense, far from normal in another sense. But we are not supposed to conform to this world. And as I grow in the word and in faith it becomes easier to separate myself from this world. After all, this place is not my home. And Jesus is coming soon!!

    • Great observation, Rachel, about the older we get, the easier it is to separate from the world. The things I once held as “sacred” and dear, I now wonder what I ever saw in them. Now, at age 58, it’s all about Christ … glorifying Him and honoring Him in everything I do.

  11. The quote from Peter is perfect: “Lord, You have the words of eternal life. Where else can we go?” This should be the first verse that comes to the mind of the Christian whenever he or she feels like tossing in the towel. Great post.

  12. Dear Pastor, we will still believe. There is no other way but the WAY of our Lord Jesus! He loves you!

  13. Faith, either we live by it, or we die without it.

Leave a Reply

