Apparently, I’m 94 years old


IMG_1257

The older you get, the quicker the years fly by. But this time, after my 48th birthday last year, the passing was dizzyingly fast.

I’ve always said, on the basis of Gen. 6:3, that I would live to 120 years. (I don’t know why Christians cite more frequently Psm 90:10 which promises a mere 80 years). As far-fetched as they may sound, it now appears realistically possible, thought it’s not what I had in mind.

Seriously though, I believe Christians should take care not only of their souls. Good nutrition, sleep and exercise mean we will be useful for the Lord’s service for a longer time. Our bodies are temple of the Holy Spirit, so we shouldn’t abuse them.

Some wise-crack: I’m not getting chubbier. I’m just extending the tabernacle of the Holy Spirit. Very funny but not very Biblical. Others grow mystical citing God’s sovereignty over the years of their life. In other words, no matter how many sodas and brownies I ingest, I can’t shorten my life, because God has set a definite time period for my life. This is recklessness and irresponsibility. God’s plan should work seamlessly with our participation, not contrariwise. Sadly, I’ve seen several great servants pass prematurely to their eternal reward, their years of useful labor cut short by poor health choices.

12 responses to “Apparently, I’m 94 years old

  1. Happy birthday to you!

  2. Happy Birthday. I wish you a long life (125 years) full of health, love, happiness and successes.
    Your philosophical opinion, is very important, it is the basis of any strategy for real life “personal” “free” “History” … precisely that refuse all religious world.

  3. Happy Birthday 🎂

  4. I turn 68 next month, which will put me 4 years older than my father, who didn’t wake up after heart surgery at 64. However, they didn’t understand cholesterol very well back then, and he had a high-stress desk job and didn’t understand how essential regular exercise is. I take a cholesterol medication and try to walk an hour three times a week (though that has cut back in the current extreme heat). I’m only very slightly above my “ideal” weight, and intend to stay available to the Lord for as long as He wants to keep me here.

  5. This is a great reminder to pass by the dessert table at our summer potluck, which I usually don’t.

  6. Happy birthday to you! I have missed reading your post… Since I moved my site last year. Grace of the Lord be with you

  7. belated happy birthday brother!More blessings!Godbless you

  8. Happy Birthday to you, happy 94th…. hehe couldn’t happen to me this year… 55 easy, see… 🙂

  9. Happy Birthday! My dad used to jokingly transpose the numbers of his age. Worked great for the first half of each decade, but he still did it every year anyway… LoL … Same ol’ jokes every year! 😉 Hope you feel like 49 when you get to your 94th b-day! 🙂 ♥ ❤

Leave a Reply

