Coffee is critical


img_1773One urgent matter I brought up twice during our pre-semester meetings at the Lighthouse Christian Academy in Santa Monica was: Will there be coffee this year?

Last year, I lived next to the school and could easily go over to my home for another cup. Not this year. Now I live in Van Nuys, where I’m pioneering a church under the moniker Valley Boy Pastor.

The boss doesn’t drink coffee. Other teachers bring expensive cups of coffee.

Twice the boss tried to dodge my pressing issue with dismissive remarks: The pot used to be around here somewhere. The message: Don’t interrupt important proceedings discussing lofty plans with such banalities.

But no. This was urgent. This was that tasty and needed pick-me-up. I don’t want to become the grumpy, draggy, ugly version of myself when I’m coffee-deprived. The kids deserve my best.

Don’t get me wrong. All the strategic plans, policies and regulations are critical.

I’m just saying coffee is critical.

14 responses to “Coffee is critical

  1. Amen to that! And cheap home-brewed coffee suits me just fine.

  2. Amen. It certainly is a necessity.

  3. I’m not nearly so big on coffee, but I do understand that “creature comforts” aren’t to be ignored, except as Spirit-directed fasting.

  4. Need me to show you how to make coffee with an iron and french press? I learned from the best!

  5. Reblogged this on pastorglen52 and commented:
    Total agreement… gotta have that coffee!

  6. Blessings to you and your much needed work Pastor. May your coffee pot overflow with the steaming hot brew. Keep up the good fight.

  7. The coffee pot is as essential as the air we breath.

  8. Through the generous Providence of God I am praying that the needed coffee pot arrived where it needed to be with all of its accessories (coffee) exactly when you needed it!

Leave a Reply

