Whoa! Who’s against abortion?


jacknicholson2

Jack Nicholson’s teenage mom very nearly aborted him, which is why he opposes killing fetuses in the womb.

“I’m very contra my constituency in the terms of abortion because I’m positively against it,” the bad boy actor said. “I don’t have the right to any other view. My only emotion is gratitude, literally, for my life.”

Nicholson is not a lone voice in Hollywood. A number of celebrities are joining him in voicing their opposition to abortion.

jordin-sparksTake, for example, Apocalypse Now-star Martin Sheen. His wife, conceived from rape, was also almost aborted – or dumped into the Ohio River once born. He’s glad his wife grew up – and stole his heart.

“I have experienced the great joy of God’s presence in my children, so I’m inclined to be against abortion of any life. I am opposed anywhere people are sacrificed for some end justifying a means.”

Italian tenor Andrea Bocelli recounted in 2010 concert how his mom was warned that her baby would be born with some sort of defects due to a bout with appendicitis while pregnant. Doctors counseled her to abort.

andrea_bocelli

“But the young brave wife decided not to abort, and the child was born,” he said. “I can say that it was the right choice and I hope that this could encourage many mothers who sometimes might find themselves in difficult situations but want to save the life of their baby.”

He was born blind, but he also was gifted with an amazing operatic voice. The singer has sold 70 million records worldwide.

Rapper “Common” recorded the track “Retrospect for Life” to explore pro-life ideas through an imaginary young couple: “Let’s have this boy.”

elisabeth-hasselbeck

The Chicago artist, whose real name is Lonnie Rashid Lynn, Jr., describes abortion as “turning this woman’s womb into a tomb.”

“Our music can really change the perspective of someone’s life,” he said. “I honestly had a song about abortion and I’ve had people come to me and say that song was the reason why I decided to have my child.

American Idol winner Jordin Sparks has performed at pro-life rallies and once posted a picture of herself on her MySpace page of her at a National Right to Life Rally holding a sign that said, “Stop Abortion Now.”

Another musician, pop sensation Justin Bieber has also raised his voice in favor of life.

“I really don’t believe in abortion, it’s like killing a baby,” he stold Rolling Stone in 2011.

When asked about rape, Bieber replied “ Well, I think that’s really sad, but everything happens for a reason. I don’t know how that would be a reason. I guess I haven’t been in that position, so I wouldn’t be able to judge that.”

As might be expected, Chuck Norris delivers his pro-life stance with a karate chop.

“We need to get back to a view of humanity that emphasizes the immortal worth of every human being,” the black belt said. “The care of human life and happiness, and not their destruction, is the first and only legitimate object of good government.”

Canadian singer Celine Dios credits a priest with her life because her mom, who had 13 children already considered terminated the 14th pregnancy. But before she pulled the plug, she consulted at the church.

“The priest told her that she had no right to go against nature,” Celine said. “So I have to admit that in a way, I owe my life to that priest.” Read the rest of the story.

11 responses to “Whoa! Who’s against abortion?

  1. I’m pro-life and that includes the mom who is sadly often shamed, judged and abandoned.

  2. What an interesting read…thank you for sharing this! Our wish our media made more note of these types of stories, perhaps some lives might then be spared.

  3. Powerful stories…it’s a shame (in my opinion) that we have to take sides on an issue of life versus death.

  4. Grateful for these pro-life celebrities (some of them surprising) speaking out!

  5. Great reminders that Hollywood can actually influence in the positive.

  6. Some awesome testimonies there! I am excited to see some well-known voices advocating for life!

  7. Thanks for sharing. I’m pleased to see some of Hollywood’s famous to use their influence to stand up for life.

  8. Abortion is murder. So thankful some folks who can make a difference realize the truth.

  9. Great post! Not because celebrity opinion is more worthy than non-celebrity, but because there are those who take note and are persuaded to follow their Hollybood faves:-/ Encouraging to hear some stars do not shine solely for themselves. Shared via Pinterest/fb🙂 💜 Jackie@KWH

Leave a Reply

