True joy at Christmas


9b248ee363e2c2a1c727272ec55a14e2As a tyke at the local Methodist church, I muffed my lines in the Christmas play. The question posed was: What’s better — giving or getting?

At the time, I really felt that “getting” was what Christmas was all about. I loved getting toys, not sweaters. But I messed up and piped up: “Giving.”

The adult in the play, under her breath, scolded me for getting it backwards and then continued with the play.

Since then I have matured and discovered that maybe my mistake was prophetic. I have discovered that the true joy of Christmas is being able to give.

The irony is that someone has go gleeful with the gift, so somebody has to enjoy getting. Kids make easy targets for this.

Santa was on to something after all. This is why Jesus, the ultimate Christmas gift came. The Father wanted to see His children squeal with joy upon receiving salvation.

2 responses to “True joy at Christmas

  1. You were just a kid, no regret for being immature. Yes, there is more value and meaning when we give. Happy Holidays and a Merry Christmas to you and your family. xo

  2. Eternal life – a gift worth squealing about every day! Merry Christmas to you and your family. God bless y’all.

Leave a Reply

