Jesus freaks? Oh ok. But you can feel the love…


Facing-'Jesus-freaks'-at-Christian-school-in-Santa-MonicaBy Hailey Johnson, LCA sophomore –

Before I came to LCA, I was a student at John Adams Middle School.

If you’ve never visited JAMS , a 1-word summary of the school would be: disorganized. The school was filled with around 1,000 kids, each equipped with a sailor mouth.

It was my last year at JAMS, and I didn’t feel very motivated. I started doing less of my work and hardly showing up for my classes. Towards the middle of the school year, I begged my parents to transfer me to somewhere else.

To my surprise, my mother found a a Christian school in Santa Monica. Within a week, I was enrolled at Lighthouse Church School, which is the elementary/middle school counterpart for LCA.

non-religious-at-Christian-schoolMy family wasn’t really all that religious, so it was a new experience for me. On my very first day, I thought that everyone was incredibly eccentric and I thought of them as “Jesus freaks.”

I was so prideful that I distanced myself from everyone for the rest of the school year. A couple of months later I moved on to the high school, Lighthouse Christian Academy, where I also distanced myself from others but not as much.

However, at the beginning of my sophomore year I somewhat came out of my shell and started socializing with all sorts of unique and distinct people, who encouraged me to get more involved with the school.

I ended up going to events I’d never even think of going to such as the Walk to Africa, Senior Dinner, and Harvester’s Homecoming.

Out of all the schoolwide events, I highly encourage incoming students and parents to go to Senior Dinner. Read the rest about the Jesus freaks school.

Editor’s note: Usually I edit my student’s articles heavily to bring them up to journalistic standard. But with this piece, I barely touched it. I just love how Hailey lets her sincerity shine through. And, yes, I laughed to see she called me and others a “Jesus freak.” We love you, Hailey!

 

3 responses to “Jesus freaks? Oh ok. But you can feel the love…

  1. I love Jesus and have read the Bible many many times. Forgiveness, love and leading by example are part of the New Testament. We are forgiven when we ask for Him to come into our lives. Thinking of the whole world and the whole picture is very important. Love thy neighbor as thyself would cure the ills of the world.

Leave a Reply

