Just because he liked ‘girlish’ things, he was pushed into LGBTQ


Dane when he turned gay.

He was shunned as a boy because he liked “girlish” things: flowers, animals, women’s clothes, dolls and movies with strong female leads.

“I remember thinking that if I was a female, then I felt people would then accept me,” Dane Erik says. “It was my distorted thinking that I would be accepted.”

Because certain people bombarded him with the message that he was born LGBTQ and that he should embrace it fully, Dane passed from gender-confused to gay to transgender.

Dane when he became transgender.

Embracing sin did not bring the touted happiness, he says.

Today, Dane, 38, from Wisconsin, is a “man of God,” he says.

“I accepted what other people identified me as. I started to believe lies about God until I started reading scriptures for myself. It showed me He loved me and sought me out even in my confusion,” he says. “Even as I struggled to understand my identity, until I saw myself as God created me.”

His childhood was typical of someone who slips into LGBTQ. He was bullied and ostracized.

Dane today.

“I was made fun of regularly and excluded from groups,” he says. “Some girls didn’t want to be around me because I was a boy and boys didn’t like me because I was too ‘effeminate.’ I was fascinated with women and girls, they also gave me comfort and nurturing that men or boys didn’t.

“It made me cry and felt very alone as both boys and girls would bully or shun me.”

Wanting desperately to fit in and be accepted, Dane fell in with other misfits: disable kids, outcast kids and minorities.

Not everything pointed in one direction though. He liked swimming, hiking, wrestling, baseball, soccer and “getting out into nature without fear of getting dirty.”

In high school, he tried to project a masculine image and even bragged about a girlfriend who didn’t exist, “so people would stop harassing me,” he says.

To escape the loneliness and rejection, he took refuge in singing, music, art and movies.

Later, he took an interest in psychology. “I loved learning about people and their experiences,” he says.

“Eventually the words that were spoken over me about my sexuality and who… Read the rest: Just because he like ‘girlish’ things, they pushed him into LGBTQ

2 responses to “Just because he liked ‘girlish’ things, he was pushed into LGBTQ

  1. God can turn everything the enemy meant for evil to good! thank you Jesus!

  2. My heart breaks for him. What a wonderful gentleman, with God’s help, he became. I was just the opposite, living on a farm, not wearing shoes, wearing overalls, dispising dolls, and a total tomboy. I was made fun of too. If it were today, they would have classified me as trans. I grew up to be a girly girl and embrace my feminity. Let kids be kids and retain their childhood. My prayers go with him, ❤ Thank you for this post.

Leave a comment