Pray a firewall of protection over your life


  1. 494cd8c258d3247a68344c446f3b3b15How do I pray better?
  2. What sorts of Bible prayers work?
  3. How can I pray for finances?

Here’s an inspirational nugget to jumpstart your prayers:

A firewall limits the passing of fire from one building to the next, if we’re talking architecture. If we’re talking computers, a firewall prevents cyber attacks and spam. But if we’re talking Bible, a wall of fire saved the Israelites from being annihilated by their Egyptian pursuers.

Moses led the Israelites out of slavery in Egypt. Pharoah had a change of heart (again!) and raced after them with his chariots and horsemen. In front, the Red Sea blocked. Behind, the world’s most feared army closed in. The Israelites were dead ducks.

Just before the Egyptians fell on the helpless Jews, the guiding cloud (which by night turned into a pillar of fire) settled in between the two, separating them and protecting the Israelites. It was a wall of fire that saved God’s people from the ravenous horde.

e1eb2454b2356b079fa7f9fbebac1c0fPray for God’s firewall to protect your finances, your health, your family, your children. For some reason, “hedge of protection” is a buzzword in Christianity. You can have a hedge. I’ll go for the “wall of fire.” The devil can’t touch you, when God covers you.

Verses to fuel your prayers:

  • Job 1:10 NIV (Satan, discrediting Job’s faithfulness, complains to God) Have you not put a hedge around him and his household and everything he has? You have blessed the work of his hands, so that his flocks and herds are spread throughout the land.
  • Psm 34:7 NIV The angel of the LORD encamps around those who fear him, and he delivers them.
  • Psm 91:7 NIV  A thousand may fall at your side, ten thousand at your right hand, but it will not come near you.

27 responses to “Pray a firewall of protection over your life

  1. Thank you so much for these words of inspiration. The message in this post truly spoke to my heart with clarity and truth. It was exactly what I needed to hear at just the time I needed to hear it. May God’s blessings be on you and yours always.

  2. Love that faith/fear graphic!

  3. What you believe and to whom you pray is vitally important. Sadly, the little Japanese girl in your picture is almost certainly at a Shinto shrine, and knows nothing of the Creator and His love for her through His Son.

  4. Awesome – thank you. The attacks are increasing. I needed this reminder today!

  5. Once again, well said! And may everyone remember the what this time of year is about. Not chocolate, eggs and bunnies, but the fact that Jesus gave his life on the cross for our sins!!

  6. Love the picture – hedges – good -firewalls – better! perhaps a hedge made of burning bushes?

  7. noordinaryjoy61

    I was alarmed to realize that I’ve been one of those people praying the whole hedge of protection thing. The rationale behind praying for God’s firewall makes so much more sense. This topic has also made me revisit anything I might be praying without having stopped to wonder why. I feel like my prayers might be more effective when my words are more intentional. Thanks! I needed that!!

    • Dear NoOrdinaryJoy, Please don’t be alarmed! The difference is only semantic. Your prayers are probably just as effective. My point was that I prefer the firewall image over the hedge image as a personal preference. We cannot think God will limit His good providence based on faulty word choice. And it is hard to accuse of “faulty word choice,” since the word is 1) biblical and 2) used by Satan to state that Job remains untouchable because of God’s protection. The purpose of my blog is to spark mental pictures that activate faith, not say there is a perfect word choice. Hope this helps! Yours, Mike

  8. Pingback: Becoming God’s People of Integrity | Inspirational Matters

  9. Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the good data you’ve got here on this post.

    I will probably be coming back to your blog for more soon.

  10. Joan Thibodeaux

    I first learned about the Wall Of Fire from Bob Thieme ministries. Thànks for the review

Leave a comment